Alazanas Foxi Prevails in Women’s Challenge0

Posted on December 31st, 2018 in News, Uncategorized

Displaying a very calculated and strong defensive game throughout, with the addition of second half offense, Alazanas Foxi (Kate Weber 4, Malia McCoy 5, Jessica Bailey 5, Meghan Gracida 3 – [17]) defeated Plank & Co, (Kendall Plank 4, Cheryl Schindel 2, Dayelle Fargey 6, Tiffany Busch 6 – [18]) by a final score of 4.5 – 3 to win the USPA Pacific Coast Circuit Women’s Challenge and WCT Qualifier played at Southern California‚Äôs Eldorado Polo Club. Playing in front of a very involved and vocal lunchtime Cantina crowd, the winners acquired a half point award at the start.

Due to sturdy defense from both sides, the first period was somewhat choppy and ended with no scoring for either foursome. Alazanas Foxi continued to lead with the handicap difference at .5 – 0.

Fargey – playing the eventual Best Playing Pony award winner – was able to get free during the second chukker and scored twice from the field. That would be it however, as both defenses continued to work well and Plank & Co. led at 2 – .5.

The third period opened up for Alazanas Foxi as Weber and Bailey counted goals. At the same time, their strong defensive play remained in business and the oft mentioned Plank & Co. offense was held at bay. Alazanas Foxi led once again by the award difference at 2.5 – 2.

With their solid defensive play continuing in the fourth, Alazanas Foxi continued to mix in offence as well and Gracida scored to increase the lead to one and a half goals. Continued offensive pressure forced a Plank & Co. error and Weber converted a penalty number two and the lead was now two and one half goals. Fargey was able to score her third of the game to narrow the difference but time was not her ally and it was over. Alazanas Foxi was the USPA Womens Challenge/WCT Qualifier champion.

Weber, based on her steady, strong, and knowledgeable play, was selected as the Most Valuable Player to her team and Ebony – Fargey’s second chukker mare – was adorned with the Best Playing Pony blanket. The Sunny Hale Memorial Horsemanship Award was presented to Catlin Dix playing for consolation winner Ocean Mist/Prime Time.
Tony Gregg

ALAZANAS FOXI Kate Weber, Meghan Gracida, Malia McCoy, Jessica Bailey
Presented by Bill Devane & Caroline Anier
(Photo: Kerri Kerley)