Antelope Jr. Continues to Dominate With Beal Win0

Posted on February 12th, 2018 in News, Uncategorized

After an almost perfect January with the Coachella Valley Officer’s Cup victory, Grant Palmer and his Antelope Junior team (Grant Palmer, Carolyn Anier 1, Patrick Uretz 4, Jimmy Wright 3) continued that January run as they won the 2018 Carlton and Keleen Beal Cup 8 Goal Division. The win – once again – came at the expense of Virgil Kyle and Ryan Robertson’s Bush League foursome (Virgil Kyle, Ryan Robertson, Ulysses Escapite 4, Shane Rice 4).
The young pronghorns started very quickly in the first and jumped out to a two goal lead that the country boys were able to cover with a quick pair of their own. One more for Antelope Junior gave them a lead going to the second at 3 – 2.
Palmer and Co. led by a pair in the early second but Bush League came back with two goals and the game was tied after two (4 – 4.
The third frame belonged to the youngsters as they counted twice to lead at halftime by a count of 6 – 4.
The Orange and Black were much the stronger team in the fourth as they scored twice to just one for Antelope Junior and they trailed by just one at 7 – 6.
The fifth was even with both scoring two times and the young pronghorns led by one at 9 – 8.
Robertson with one goal and Kyle with another gave the country boys their first lead of the game halfway through the sixth period. However, Wright and Uretz replied quickly for Antelope Junior and the Bush League rally was quelled and Palmer had his second season title by a final tally of 11 – 10.
For the winners, Uretz scored eight times (4 fouls) and Wright had three.
The reply from Bush League came from Escapite with five, Rice had three (1 foul), and Robertson and Kyle counted once each.
Because of his ability to read situations and act accordingly, Wright was named as the MVP and Benny, owned and played by Escapite in the fourth was selected as the Best Playing Pony.

Tony Gregg