Antelope Strikes Early to Best Cotterel in Jason Final0

Posted on January 23rd, 2017 in News, Uncategorized

The rain delayed final game of the Mack and Madelyn Jason Memorial was played on Sunday, January 22 on a rather cool and damp desert afternoon. In spite of the inhospitable conditions, Geoff Palmer’s Antelope group ( Grant Palmer -1, Santiago Trotz 5, Jared Sheldon 4, Rhandy Heredia – sub for Geoff Palmer) didn’t let the weather cool them as they rode to victory by a count of 12 – 9 over Jenny Luttrell-Benardoni and her Cotterel Farms foursome (Jenny Luttrell-Benardoni, Francisco Benardoni 1, Ruben Cossia 5, Matthew Fonseca 2).

It was obvious at the start that longtime Antelope quarterback Trotz didn’t let the below normal temperature and threatening rain affect his team as they kept their powder dry and took an immediate four goal lead after period number one – a lead that was never to be surrendered.

Cotterel was able to close the gap to three in the second at 6 -3, but remained behind that margin going to the half at 7 – 4.

The fourth chukker was, once again, played even with the three goal gap enduring to read 8 – 5.

Cotterel jumped out in the fifth and narrowed the count to just one early on at 8 – 7 but Antelope responded with three of their own to just one other for the Idahoans and the differential was once again three (11 – 8) going to the final frame.

With the temperature falling, the sixth period was – for the third time – played even with each team scoring once and it was over and Antelope had won the first tournament of the 2017 season.

For the winners, Sheldon, in his MVP role, scored six times (four foul conversions),  Trotz counted four times, and the aggressive Eldorado Junior Polo graduates Palmer and Heredia scored once each.

The runner-up replies came from Fonseca with four, Coscia notched three, and Benardoni scored once. A penalty #1 award filled out their card.

Along with Sheldon receiving his well earned accolade, Centasia, played by Trotz in the fifth, was selected as the Best Playing Pony.

Tony Gregg