Boss Polo Wins 2018 Governor’s Cup0

Posted on March 26th, 2018 in News, Uncategorized

The 2018 Pacific Coast Circuit Governor’s Cup final was a contest between a pair of young newcomers and a familiar face who had played in the final several times before.
In fact, Reg Whyte had not only been there before, he won the coveted trophy in 2010.
This year’s game would see Whyte and his Thermal group (Reg Whyte, Mia Bray, Patrick Uretz 4, Felipe Sordelli 2) face off with rookies Bayne Bossom and Leslie Tims’ Boss Polo partnership (Leslie Tims -1, Bayne Bossom, Jared Sheldon 4, Remy Du Celliee Muller 3) in a game that saw several swings in momentum.
From the start it was apparent that this would be quick and fast game as Uretz ran from the initial bowl-in and scored to give a very early lead to Thermal. However, Sheldon scored three goals in a row to grab a two goal bulge for Boss Polo. Bossom finished off the first period with two counters of his own and the opener was over with the youngsters leading with a count of 5 – 1.
The momentum that hurt Thermal in the first was theirs in the second frame as the pressure they exerted created defensive errors by Boss Polo. The result was three open goal awards – from 40 yards – that Uretz converted. Boss Polo still led but by just one at 5 – 4.
Chukker number three saw Boss Polo grab the momentum once again as Du Celliee Muller scored three goals and Sheldon had one. Uretz was able to reply for Thermal with one but the lead was now four for the newcomers at 9 – 5.
Thermal came within three as Sordelli scored his first but Sheldon got that back to quell a possible comeback. Sordelli was able to grab another but that would be it as Boss Polo won by a final tally of 10 – 7.
Because of his superb offensive and defensive abilities in the middle of the game, Du Celliee Muller was named the Most Valuable Player to his team.
Chiquita – played by Sheldon in his explosive first chukker – was selected as the Best Playing Pony.

Tony Gregg