Bush League Wins Pacific Coast Governor’s Cup0

Posted on March 25th, 2019 in News, Uncategorized

BUSH LEAGUE – Virgil Kyle, Ryan Robertson, Jose Rodriguez, Ulysses Escapite

The final game of the 2019 USPA Pacific Coast Governor’s Cup – with $7,500 for the winners and $2500 to the runners-up) featured two team names that had been there before. Bush League’s Virgil Kyle and Ryan Robertson saddled up for their third finals appearance in four years and Cheryl Schindel had played in the 2015 decider.

The start was fast for the Centurions (Cheryl Schindel -.5, Luis Saracco 3, Ignacio Saracco 2, Santiago Mendez 1.5) as Ignacio Saracco scored in the first 90 seconds to give the Grand Prairie, Alberta group a lead of one. However, that would be their only lead of the afternoon as Bush League (Virgil Kyle .5, Ryan Robertson .5, Ulysses Escapite 4, Jose Rodriguez 1) came back quickly to apply pressure that resulted in a Robertson penalty three conversion followed by a field goal from Escapite. The first was over and the country boys led 2 – 1.
The Romans got even in the second frame as Luis Saracco scored on a penalty two award but Bush League’s Escapite nailed a penalty four strike to again lead by one at the half (3 – 2).
Ignacio Saracco scored his second field goal in the early third period to again tie the count. Rodriguez then counted a pair of well earned field goals and Robertson scored his second open goal opportunity – a spot penalty two – and the third was over with country boys up by three (6 – 3).
In the fourth, Rodriguez scored his third of the contest and the Bush League lead was now four goals at 7 – 3. With the Centurions needing to score five unanswered goals to win, time – not to mention a strong Bush league defence – was a big factor. Luis Saracco was able to count a pair of field goals but it wasn’t nearly enough and Bush league won their second Governor’s Cup title in three years – with the identical lineup.
With his “nose in every play”, Rodriguez was the obvious choice as the MVP and Ygritte, owned by Kyle and played by Rodriguez in the third was selected as the Best Playing Pony.
On an afternoon that was presented by Oban Single Malt Scotch Whisky, Ed Adams, Master of Whisky, and representing Oban & Lagavulin presnted the victors with bottles of Oban.
The Governor of the Pacific Coast Circuit, Danny Walker, presented the trophies and checks to both teams.
Tony Gregg

CENTURIONS – Cheryl Schindel, Ignacio Saracco, Luis Saracco, Topo Mendez
BEST PLAYING PONY – YGRITTE Played by Jose Rodriguez owned by Virgil Kyle