Springbok Leaps to Women’s Tournament Victory0

Posted on March 6th, 2015 in News

The WCT Qualifier, played on the ‘down’ weekend of February 28 – March 1, saw three teams on the entry docket. As such, the play would consist of a round-robin over three days.

The tournament started with Pheasant Hollow (Debra Vermoch 1, Dayelle Fargey 7, Abby Riggs 6, Megan Judge 2) facing off against the Terrifying Pony Tails (Susan Guggenheim 2, Cathy Butler 2, Isabella Wolf 5, Caroline Anier 7). In a game that was close the entire way, the Pony Tails, in what was considered to be an upset, were able to ride away with a 6 – 5 win.

With the loser staying up in a round-robin, Pheasant Hollow returned on Saturday to play Springbok (Kate Weber 4, Malia McCoy 5, Jessica Bailey 5, Andrea Brereton 1). The result of this one was never in doubt as Springbok breezed to a 6.5 – 1 win.

The third game, to be played on Sunday, would then feature the two winners from previous play. However, rain forced a postponement and the game was rescheduled for the following Tuesday. Like game two, the championship contest turned out to be rather one-sided also as Springbok controlled the entire time and earned the spoils with a 9 – 4 victory and in doing so, became the 2015 WCT Champions.

Malia McCoy was selected as the Most Valuable Player and Caroline Anier’s Nicky was chosen as the Best Playing Pony.


The weekend also featured a B and C Flight as well.

The second level also featured three teams; La Petrona (Claudia Uretz 2, Jenny Luttrell-Benardoni 3, Jennifer Alexy 4, Jillian Tiejte), Chopsticks(Lynni Hutton 1, Kit Neacy 1, Tania Paneno/Judith Baker 1, Caroline Anier 7), and Team Oz (Emma Tooth, Katayoon Ilkhanibdeh, Liz Peck 2, Dayelle Fargey 7). With rain causing problems with play, a shootout was held and La Petrona were victorious.

With three teams entered in the C Flight, round-robin play determined the winner as well. After  play was completed, Media Spur (Megan Kozminski, Gale Derricott, Kim Ross, Stephanie Davidson) were the winners over Ocean Mist (Michelle Myers, Dana Bates, Brianna Heilig, Jana Elordi) and Team Oz (Emma Tooth, Kate Campbell, Heidi Clark, Joyce Pexton).
Tony Gregg